Annual English Proficiency Test
Every EL student takes the yearly English Language Proficiency Test called ACCESS. ACCESS for English Learners (Assessing Comprehension and Communication in English State-to-State for English Learners) is a secure large-scale English language proficiency assessment given to Kindergarten through 12th graders who have been identified as English Learners (ELs). It is given annually in WIDA Consortium member states to monitor students' progress in acquiring academic English.

Test scores determine English progress or attainment. Such information is used by Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) to determine annual measurable achievement objectives (AMAO) for English Learner students and Annual Yearly Progress (AYP) in English progress or attainment. Parents are notified yearly of continuing services and test results. English Learner students whose parents refuse English Learner services are also tested yearly, even though they do not receive services. Copies of the waiver to refuse English Learner services are kept in the student’s files until graduation or age 21.

ACCESS for English Learners test items are written from the model performance indicators of WIDA's five English Language Proficiency (English Learner Proficiency) standards:
Social & Instructional Language
Language of Language Arts
Language of Mathematics
Language of Science
Language of Social Studies

Test forms are divided into five grade-level clusters:
Grades 1-2
Grades 3-5
Grades 6-8
Grades 9-12
Within each grade-level cluster (except Kindergarten), ACCESS for English Learners consists of three forms: Tier A (beginning), Tier B (intermediate), and Tier C (advanced). This keeps the test shorter and more appropriately targets each student’s range of language skills.


Each form of the test assesses the four language domains of Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing.

WIDA W-APT Information
WIDA Can Do Descriptors

Contact: Melanie Helling