Skip To Main Content


Mankato Area Public Schools is governed by a seven member School Board elected at-large by school district residents.  Board members serve four-year terms and are elected during the November General Election on even years.  New terms begin the first Monday in January.

Legal requirements to run for school board:

  • At least 21 years old
  • ​​​​​​​An eligible voter
  • District resident for at least 30 days (Minn. Stat. 204B.06, Subd. 1)

  • Not a convicted sex offender (Minn. Stat. 205A.06, Subd. 1b)

The General Election will be held on Tuesday, November 5, 2024.  At that election, four (4) members will be elected to the school board for terms of four (4) years each (2025-2029).


To file for School Board Office, please bring in the following or pick up a copy from the District Office:


Affidavit of Withdrawal by 5 pm on August 15, 2024

Candidate Filing Window:
Opens Tuesday, July 30 at 7 a.m. and closes Tuesday, August 13 at 5 p.m.  

Filing Location:
Mankato Area Public Schools District Office: 10 Civic Center Plaza, Suite 2, Mankato 

Office Hours:
7:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m

Contact: Deputy Clerk: Becky Bailey,, (507) 387-1868

Campaign Financials

If you have any questions, please contact Becky Bailey: or (507) 387-1868.