Skip To Main Content



Assuring learning excellence and readiness for a changing world



Feature Story

Mankato Area Public Schools’ complimentary “VIP Gold Card” is exclusively for seniors—age 62 plus—who live within school district #77.  It’s a great way to enjoy no cost admission to enjoy concerts, athletic and academic events, plays and planetarium shows.  To obtain a “VIP Gold Card,” simply contact Mankato Area Public Schools’ central office at 507-387-1868; or the activity offices at East High School 507-207-3628, or West High School 507-207-3921.

Students benefit from audience attendance, intergenerational and community involvement.  Quality schools positively influence quality of life, economic development and home values.


VIP Gold Card exclusively for seniors


Mankato Area Public Schools prepares to open basketball and tennis courts

Mankato Area Public Schools' staff is preparing to re-open basketball and tennis courts. Resurfacing work at East High School's courts, 2600 Hoffman Road, will be underway in the next month. Once complete, nets will be placed throughout district courts so these amenities can be used by the public.


Signage will be placed and adjustments made as necessary to help prevent the spread of COVID-19 following Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines and recommendations:


While at the courts avoid high-touch surfaces:

  • The CDC recommends avoiding playground equipment.
  • The DNR recommends avoiding contact with shared amenities like playground equipment and benches. Assume such equipment has not been sanitized. Wash your hands or use hand sanitizer if you do come into contact with shared amenities.


Other CDC and DNR recommendations include:

  • Limit groups in park based on DNR and CDC guidelines.
  • Limit close contact with others outside your household to reduce asymptomatic spread. 
  • Practice social distancing by staying at least six-feet away from others.
  • Wear a mask or face covering.
  • Wash hands or use hand sanitizer after using park amenities.
  • Stay home if sick.

For more information contact staff at 507-345-5311.

Mankato Area Public School Board approves John Lustig as Director of Administrative Services

The Mankato Area Public School Board has approved John Lustig as Director of Administrative Services effective July 1. Lustig's experiences include teaching social studies and serving as the Alternative Learning Center coordinator and technology integration specialist in Le Sueur-Henderson Public Schools, technology director for St. Peter Public Schools and principal for the Minnesota Valley Education District, where he is currently the executive director.   


Lustig has a bachelor’s degree from the University of Minnesota; and, a master's in educational technology and education specialist degree from Minnesota State University, Mankato. He is replacing Eric Hudspith, director of human resources and organizational development, who will serve as superintendent of Waseca Public Schools.

Celebrate Teacher Appreciation Week -- tie a ribbon around a tree
Red, yellow and maroon ribbons on a tree in front of the Intergovernmental Center celebrate teachers.

Ribbons around a tree in front of the Intergovernmental Center, 10 Civic Center Plaza, celebrate teachers as part of Teacher Appreciation Week.

Ribbons tied around a tree in front of the Intergovernmental Center, 10 Civic Center Plaza, Mankato, recognize Mankato Area Public Schools' teachers as part of Teacher Appreciation Week (through Friday, May 8).


Yellow, red and maroon ribbons placed by middle school Principals Monde Schwartz and Carmen Strahan; and, high school Principals Sherri Blasing, Jeff Dahline and Brian Hansen represent schools throughout the district:


  • Adult Basic Education
  • Bridges Community School
  • Central Freedom School
  • Central High School
  • Community Education and Recreation
  • Dakota Meadows Middle School
  • Eagle Lake Elementary School
  • Early Learning
  • East High School
  • Family Learning Center
  • Futures
  • Franklin Elementary School
  • Hoover Elementary School
  • Jefferson Elementary School
  • Kennedy Elementary School
  • Monroe Elementary School
  • Prairie Winds Middle School
  • Roosevelt Elementary School
  • Rosa Parks Elementary School
  • Washington Elementary School
  • West High School

"We appreciate all of the work teachers and other staff do for students," says Superintendent Paul Peterson. "Everyone's encouraged to participate and celebrate teachers by tying a ribbon around a tree."

For more information contact staff at 507-387-1868.

Spirit of Youth Award recipients announced

Mankato Area Public Schools' Community Education and Recreation Department announces honorees for the 2020 Spirit of Youth Awards:


  • Shane Baier--Outstanding Mentor
  • Pierre Ellis--Outstanding Community Organizer
  • Hezekyah Flowers, Shane Johnson, Max Stolzman and Clay Thonesavanh--Outstanding Youth Group (contributors)
  • Ben Groebner, Grace MacPherson and Elizabeth (Liz) Paul--Outstanding Youth
  • William Hanson, Alexander Leasman and Owen Phelps--Outstanding Youth Group (Middle School After School Youth Leaders)
  • Minnesota State University, Mankato's Mavathon (Lynsey Donna Rohlfing, president)--Outstanding Youth Organization
  • Mankato YWCA Programming for Girls--Outstanding Non-Profit Organization

Spirit of Youth Awards is an annual recognition initiative sponsored by Mankato Area Public Schools' Community Education and Recreation Advisory Council, which honors outstanding youth, youth organizations, community volunteers, educators, businesses and coaches/advisors for their work in youth asset building.


For more information contact staff at 507-387-5501.

Register for Mankato Area Public Schools' Preschool Program

Register for Mankato Area Public Schools' Preschool Program 2020 to 2021 afternoon programs offered at:


  • Early Childhood Center, 2077 Lookout Drive, North Mankato 
  • Family Learning Center, 820 Hubbell Avenue
  • Franklin Elementary School, 1000 North Broad Street
  • Rosa Parks Elementary School, 1001 Heron Drive

This child-centered program is based on early learning standards and designed to help children build kindergarten readiness, additionally:


  • has a four-star Parent Aware rating, 
  • provides a high staff to student ratio and
  • encourages parent involvement because it’s key to children’s learning success.

Families can register online. Scholarships available for qualifying families.


For more information contact staff at 507-625-4620.